“I still stuff myself sick…then go buy an ice-cream”

You know you’ve been banging on your keyboard and sifting through endless tabs of scholarly articles for too long when you start adding unnecessary exclamation marks to everything and your fingers start moving at rapid speed…looking for links and adding them to people’s posts then typing something back…AAAAA….I’ve had too much coffee!

It’s that time of year. It’s less than 2 months away and another scholastic year is over. I’m always torn at this time of year. I want and most definitely need a break yet at the same time I love school. I’m a sucker for routine. Being a bit of a control freak, I feel comfortable with a steady time table. In Summer everything is unplanned, spontaneous and I’m not sure if I like that.

Of course I can’t wait to just lie on a sun-faded towel at Ghajn Tuffieha sipping Cisk Chill at nine in the morning and pretending to be Spanish when people give us weird looks for drinking beer so early. I can’t wait to eat one ftira after the other until I’m so full that all the sausages I bought for the BBQ in the evening will end up being thrown out. Ok, that never happens…I still stuff myself sick…then go buy an ice-cream. I can’t wait to get tan, so tan that I can go out without any make-up and not scare anyone to death.

Yes, I’m going to say it, I can’t wait for Summer. Until then it’s coffee, neck pain and bags of concealers to cover the bags under my eyes.

Claire

Bliss

Bliss

 

2 thoughts on ““I still stuff myself sick…then go buy an ice-cream”

Leave a Reply

